Raising and educating kids with dyslexia

The following is an interview with my dyslexic son following his three-hour assessment at the Gabrieli Lab in Cambridge, MA to assist in their research on reading and the dyslexic brain:

G: Mom, why don’t you blog about my testing.

Mom: Okay. How was the testing? What did you do first?

G: I forget! Oh, they asked me which hand I wrote with and which hand I used for my fork and which hand I hold a spoon in. I was mostly right-handed but I was in between right and left for some things.

Mom: Did they ask if your parents were right or left-handed?

G: Ask Dad because he had fill out a packet.

Mom: Then what?

G: She [The technical research assistant] took me to a room. There was a board with numbers placed randomly. I had to connect the numbers in order. Then I did the same with the alphabet and then I had to put numbers and letters together – like 1A, 2B. It was difficult. That took a while.

Mom: Then?

G: We did regular testing like I’ve had at school. I had to read words. I had to tell her a sentence for what the person was doing in a picture.

Mom: How long did that take?

G: That took a while. There were many different things.

Mom: Then what?

G:I had to spit in a cup.

Mom: Did she tell you why you had to do this?

G: No

Mom: She didn’t say anything about it? Did you know what it was for?

G: Yes, DNA.

Mom: How did you know that? [Dad interjected at this point saying the research assistant had explained the spit was for DNA when they arrived for the testing.]

G: She told me she got spat on by tons of five year olds. She gave me an easy story to read. I read it and she timed me. At the beginning I had to read as many words as I could.

R; How well did you do?

G: Pretty good. I also had to answer yes and no questions. I got them mixed up.

Mom: What do you mean?

G: Does March come before June?

Mom: Does… you got that wrong?

G: Yes, it was confusing.

Mom: That’s fine. Was that the end?

G: No, then I read a harder story and filled out questions. The stories kept getting harder.

Mom: How many stories?

G: I did about five. The last story was full of words I didn’t know so I couldn’t answer the questions. I guessed.

Mom: Was that the end?

G: Yes, I got paid $50, which you still owe me. [Payment was in the form of Border’s gift cards. We, as parents, have agreed to give cash in exchange for the gift cards.]

Mom: What did she say at the end?

G: Good job.

Leave a Reply

